Packed up and on the road

Lights- check. Camera- check. Action- not quite yet! If you have ever wondered why photographers charge extra for on-site shoots, well this is why. This is how much stuff I have to pack for an on-site location shoot, and I’m packing light. Thank goodness for my trusty ’97 4Runner. I wish it were as easy as putting a camera and flash into a truck, but other than a few accessories everything else is for the unplanned. Lights for just-in-case the weather changes or it gets too dark, backdrop and stands just-in-case all the wallpaper or paint are not a ‘complimentary’ color, steamer just-in-case all the kids have wrinkled clothes… you get the idea. Better have it and not need it than need it and not have it… but I still have to put it in the truck and back out!

I do think I’m going to have to figure out a better way to organize everything in my truck though! This picture makes me look like a slob. I think I may have to convert my track day tool box into a photoshoot toolbox.

So the upside of on-site shoots is that I get to see views of like this…

IMG_4164The landscapes you encounter out in Western Maryland and West Virginia are beautiful. Well a sunsetting in the background over the water at Harper’s Ferry helps as well! 🙂

I will have to remember to come back and just shoot the scenery!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

